So This Just Happened

So yesterday I did something that I have never done before and a lot of people will think that I’m silly that I’m actually writing a post about this, but for me I had high anxiety from when I booked the appointment. People will be thinking what a dentist, doctor appointment.Something that could be scary. No No No I booked a hair cut.

Stupid I know, but all day yesterday I was on the brink of having a panic attack. Yes people say it’s only hair, it will grow back, but I have always loved my long hair and every time I cut it a little bit shorter I regret it and say I’m never cutting it again. But today it was time to cut it. Cut it short.

As I sat in the chair and she asked what I would like done I could feel the sweat dripping down my back from a slight panic “Cut it all off. Just do it.” I could see the excitement in her eyes. As she was cutting into my hair and I was trying to hold back the tears, she had a huge smile on her face (She can’t love her job this much on a Thursday night at 6)  I thought she is getting joy out of my pain. So I asked her. “Is it more fun to cut long hair really short?” and she smiled even more. “Hell yeah, it makes me want to cut mine.” I looked at her beautiful long blonde hair and thought hell no I wouldn’t cut that. And then she told me she had cut hers short a couple of times and then grows it back, which made me feel so much better.  I don’t know if anyone else has ever felt this way about getting a hair cut and yes I do feel a bit stupid about how it turns my stomach into butterflies and then a feeling of pure sickness, but I use to always think of my hair as my identity. And if its gone will I still be me?

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

And the answer is yes. I’m still me but now me with healthy hair. HAHAHA. I like my new hair, I can’t say that its love just yet, but hopefully with time i’ll get use to it. I didn’t even tell anyone I was getting it cut short because until the first bit of hair was cut I thought I would chicken out or just go for the safe cut (bit past the shoulder length) But once she started cutting I relaxed and felt really proud that I had gone out of my comfort zone. Yes you only live once and quoted by Coco Chanel “A woman who cuts her hair is about to change her life.” I won’t go that fair but it least it won’t take as long to do in the mornings.

Love and hugs Kate and Frankieellen

Leave a comment